KREP meets monthly at various locations around the watershed, usually the third Thurdsay from 3-5PM.  To Become a member, please email KREP requesting membership and include your address and contact information.  We will put you on the email announcement list and receive meeting announcements.  KREP currently requests that a member provide an annual donation of $20 per individual and $50 per organization Due by May 31 of each year to cover general administrative tasks.  Checks can be made out to the Natural Land Institute - (Memo -Kishwaukee River Partnership) and mailed to The Natural Land Institute 320 S. Third St.  Rockford, IL  61104


Scroll Down to view Bylaws





Rockford Park District 2012-2014

Nathan Hill, Natural Areas Maintenance Coordinator 



Environmental Defenders of McHenry County #

Neil Sachs



Natural Land Institute #

Jerry Paulson, Executive Director



 Northern Illinois University, 2012-2014

Donna Prain, Biology Department-


Boone County Conservation District #

Dan Kane, Executive Director


Boone County Soil & Water Conservation District #



DeKalb County Forest Preserve District #    

Terry Hannan, Executive Director


Land Conservancy of McHenry County #

Lisa Haderlein, Executive Director


McHenry County Conservation District #,

John Kremer, Director of Operations


McHenry Co. Farm Bureau #



McHenry County Soil & Water Conservation District #

Ed Weskerna, District Manager


Openlands #

Ders Anderson, Greenways Director 


Private Landowner, 2012 – 2014

Rick Hoffman


Sierra Club – 2012 -2014

Dr. Cindy Skrukrud


Winnebago Co. Forest Preserve #

Tom Hartley, Deputy Director of Development


# - Permanent Council Member

20##-20## Term of non Permeate members



The Kishwaukee River Ecosystem Partnership




Article I – Name


The name of this organization shall be the Kishwaukee River Ecosystem Partnership


Article II – Purpose


This organization shall be a partnership of individuals, representatives of organizations, local governments, citizen groups, and agencies.  Its mission is to raise awareness of the ecological, recreational, cultural, and economic importance of the Kishwaukee River, and to coordinate and encourage efforts to foster stewardship, protect and enhance its natural resources.


Article III – Membership


Section 1. Active membership requires that the member attend at least one meeting over a two year period. 


Section 2.  Any person, business, corporation, local government, agency, or organization, supporting the Mission, Goals and Objectives of the Partnership may become a member.


Section 3.  New members should submit a letter, which includes their address and contact information,

to the partnership requesting membership.


Section 4.  All members shall provide an annual contribution, based on the Partnerships contribution schedule, due by May each year to cover the Partnerships administrative expenses.


Article IV – Meetings of Members


Section 1.  An annual membership meeting shall be held in May of each year for the purpose of providing an annual report of the activities of the Kishwaukee River Ecosystem Partnership and any such other businesses as may come up at the meeting.


Section 2.  Special meetings, forums, seminars or conferences as may be established by the Board of Directors may also be called from time to time.


Article V - Board of Directors


Section 1.  Number of Directors.  The Board of Directors shall consist of no fewer that 7 and no more than 18 directors, all who must be members.


Section 2.  Representation of the Directors.  The Board of Directors shall include a designated representative of the following organizations within the Kishwaukee River watershed.

·                  Any Forest Preserve and Conservation District of Boone, DeKalb, Kane, Ogle, McHenry, and Winnebago Counties petitioning to be a member.

·                  Any Farm Bureau from Boone, DeKalb, Kane, Ogle, McHenry and Winnebago Counties   petitioning to be a member.

·                  Any Soil and Water Conservation District from Boone, DeKalb, Kane Ogle, McHenry and Winnebago Counties petitioning to be a member.

·                  The Natural Land Institute

·                  The Land Conservancy of McHenry County

·                  The Openlands Project

·                  The McHenry County Defenders

·                  Any organization, local government, business, industry, or agency which supports the goal and objectives of the Partnership, as determined by the Board of Directors.

·                  Any homeowners association, property owners groups, or individuals.


Section 3.  Term of Office.  The positions represented by the last 2 director categories shall be for a two-year period in order to allow as many such groups as possible to participate in the management of the Board.  All other members shall have unlimited organizational tenure, although the representatives of each organization may change over time.  The tenured Board Members shall appoint the rotating groups as vacancies occur.


Section 4.  Regular Meetings.  The Board of Directors shall hold bi monthly meetings. A regular meeting schedule shall be established if possible.  Special meetings may be called at a regularly scheduled meeting.  Meeting announcements will be sent to all active members and local media.


Section 5.  Quorum.  One third of the total number of sitting directors shall constitute a quorum for the purposes of conducting business at any Board of Directors meeting.  If a quorum is not present, the meeting may be held, but official business may not be taken.


Section 6.  Request to remove representation on Board.  Any organization sitting as a member of the Board of Directors may elect to terminate such representation by a resolution of their governing board, and a letter announcing such request.


Section 7.  Vacancies.  Vacancies of the tenured Board of Directors shall be filled by the sponsoring organization.


Article VI – Officers


Section 1.  The officers of the partnership shall be President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer.

The President shall preside over all meetings, appoint committees and oversee the operation of the partnership.  The Vice President shall perform the duties of an absent President.  The Secretary shall record minutes and the Treasurer shall have charge of the funds of the organization.


Section 2.  Nominating committee.  A committee of three board members will be selected by the President to nominate new officers.  Nominations shall be reported to the board at least one month prior to the election.  Nominations from the floor will be in order at the election.


Section 3.  Elections committee.   A committee of three board members shall be appointed by the President to conduct officer elections.  Elections shall be secret ballot and each board member has one vote.


Section 4.  Term of office.  Officers are shall be elected for a term of one year; officers may not serve more that two consecutive years.


Article VII – Administrative Procedures


Section 1.  Amending by laws.  These bylaws may be amended by a 2/3 vote of the Board of Directors sitting at any given time.  Copies of the proposed amendment(s) shall be given to the members in writing at least 30 days prior to the meeting.  Voting on by-laws can be done by fax, e-mail or posted letter.


Section 2.   Result of non-attendance.  If a board member misses 3 consecutive meetings, the Secretary, at the discretion of a majority vote of the board, shall request a new appointment from the sponsoring organization and that member is not eligible to vote on the annual C-2000 grants.


Section 3.  Directors shall abstain from voting on grants in which they are an applicant or will receive grant funds.

Amended 1/8/04